Vettle takes Bahrain Pole ahead of Massa

Vettel and Red Bull Racing take pole for the 2010 Bahrain F1 Grand Prix

Sebastian Vettel and Red Bull Racing have taken pole for the 2010 Bahrain F1 Grand Prix, ahead of the Ferrari’s of Massa and Alonso.

The remarkable qualifying session has seen Vettel become the new favourite to take out the Bahrain Grand Prix with odds of $2.85 at SportsBet, ahead of Alonso ($3.60) and Massa (4.50)

While Alonso held provisional pole early in the first low-fuel qualifying in F1 since 2002, 22 year old Vettel destroyed Alonso’s time by nine tenths of a second with 1m54.101s on his one flying run. And while Alonso managed to improve his time on his second run, he was beaten to a front row starting position by team mate Massa by 0.366s.

It was a somewhat disappointing start for Mercedes GP and McLaren. In his return to F1, Michael Schumacher could only manage 7th place on the grid behind team mate Nico Rosberg in 5th. Defending World Champion Jenson Button also features down the list in 8th place while his team mate, and former World Champion Lewis Hamilton faired better to start 4th.

Australian Mark Webber was a huge 1.2s off the pace of his Red Bull team mate Vettel, and will start from 6th.

Of the new (and returning) teams on the grid this year, Sauber performed the best with drivers De La Rossa and Kobayashi starting 14th and 16th respectively.

Vettel looks to be continuing his top form from last year and the Ferrari’s are showing great speed, plus you can never discount the four World Champions in the field. With new regulations, new driver, new teams and returning drivers the 2010 Bahrain F1 GP will definitely be an interesting race and you can place a bet right now at SportsBet.

2010 Bahrain GP Grid

  • 1 VETTEL – Red Bull
  • 2 MASSA – Ferrari
  • 3 ALONSO – Ferrari
  • 4 HAMILTON – McLaren
  • 5 ROSBERG – Mercedes
  • 6 WEBBER – Red Bull
  • 7 SCHUMACHER – Mercedes
  • 8 BUTTON – McLaren
  • 9 KUBICA – Renault
  • 10 SUTIL – Force India
  • 11 BARRICHELLO – Williams
  • 12 LIUZZI – Force India
  • 13 HULKENBERG – Williams
  • 14 DE LA ROSA – Sauber
  • 15 BUEMI – Toro Rosso
  • 16 KOBAYASHI – Sauber
  • 17 PETROV – Renault
  • 18 ALGUERSUARI – Toro Rosso
  • 19 GLOCK – Virgin
  • 20 TRULLI – Lotus
  • 21 KOVALAINEN – Lotus
  • 22 DI GRASSI – Virgin
  • 23 SENNA – HRT