Fernando Alonso Wins 2010 Bahrain Grand Prix

Fernando Alonso and Ferrari wins the 2010 Bahrain Grand PrixThe 2010 F1 World Championship Series is off and running, as Bahrain hosted the opening Grand Prix for the year, and saw no surprises in who would cross the finishing line first.

It was a fantastic victory as Fernando Alonso and Ferrari won the 2010 Bahrain Grand Prix, starting from the third position on the grid, and the win also marks the drivers first victory with Ferrari.

It was a fantastic victory as Fernando Alonso and Ferrari won the 2010 Bahrain Grand Prix.

Ferrari came away well from the 2010 Bahrain Grand Prix, grabbing the top points, as fellow Ferrari driver Felipe Massa took the runners-up spot.

Sebastian Vettel, starting from the pole position, looked to have been home and dry until the 34th lap. The Red Bull driver had issues with his spark plug, and so the ever experienced Alonso pounced, and cleared Vettel with ease who finished in fourth spot.

Rounding out the top three was the 2008 F1 drivers Champion Lewis Hamilton with McLaren, while British teammate Jenson Button finished in seventh.

Dominating headlines coming into the 2010 Bahrain Grand Prix was the return of the legendary Michael Schumacher. Debuting with Mercedes GP, the seven-time F1 drivers Champion finished in sixth spot – one position behind teammate Nico Rosberg.

Claiming the last of the points for the opening round was Rubens Barrichello with Williams.

With three new teams added to the list for the 2010 F1 World Championship in Lotus, Virgin and HRT, only Lotus made a decent claim for themselves.

Heikki Kovalainen and Jarno Trulli, the Lotus’ drivers, finished 15th and 17th respectively – both strong finishes for the new team.

So after the opening motor races of the 2010 F1 World Championship Series, Ferrari is top of the constructor standings with 43 points – a 22 point lead over McLaren, while Fernando Alonso leads the driver standings, seven points clear of Felipe Massa at 25 points.

Next on the F1 calendar is the Australian leg, with the 2010 Australian Grand Prix taking place at Melbourne’s Albert Park, from the 26th to the 28th of March.

2010 Bahrain Grand Prix Results

Position Driver Team Laps Grid Points
1st Fernando Alonso Ferrari 49 3 25
2nd Felipe Massa Ferrari 49 2 18
3rd Lewis Hamilton McLaren 49 4 15
4th Sebastian Vettel Red Bull 49 1 12
5th Nico Rosberg Mercedes GP 49 5 10
6th Michael Schumacher Mercedes GP 49 7 8
7th Jenson Button McLaren 49 8 6
8th Mark Webber Red Bull 49 6 4
9th Vitantonio Liuzzi Force India 49 12 2
10th Rubens Barrichello Williams 49 11 1
11th Robert Kubica Renault 49 9
12th Adrian Sutil Force India 49 10
13th Jaime Alguersuari Toro Rosso 49 18
14th Nico Hulkenberg Williams 48 13
15th Heikki Kovalainen Lotus 47 21
16th Sebastien Buemi Toro Rosso 46 15
17th Jarno Trulli Lotus 46 20
18th Pedro de la Rosa Sauber 28 14
19th Bruno Senna HRT 17 23
20th Timo Glock Virgin 16 19
21st Vitaly Petrov Renault 13 17
22nd Kamui Kobayashi Sauber 11 16
23rd Lucas di Grassi Virgin 2 22
24th Karun Chandhok HRT 1 24