Jenson Button Capitalises At 2010 Australian Grand Prix

Jenson Button wins 2010 Australian Grand PrixThe 2010 F1 World Championship Series hit Australian soil over the weekend, as Melbourne’s Albert Park was host to the 2010 Australian Grand Prix, and the race was certainly jam packed with surprises.

After rain just 15 minutes before the start of the race, it was all change in driver tactics, resulting in a courageous performance by all 24 drivers.

The 2010 Australian Grand Prix saw it all – a dominant race which just was not enough, a three-car crash with everyone walking away without a scratch and some fantastically skilled driving.

It was a stunning win by defending World Champion Jenson Button and McLaren in what was a spectacular showcase of elite F1 racing. The win takes Button within six points of retaining his top spot on the leader board.

It was a stunning win by defending World Champion Jenson Button and McLaren in what was a spectacular showcase of elite F1 racing.

Once again Sebastian Vettel had seemed set to take the race out, however in a similar style to the Bahrain Grand Prix, the Red Bull driver, who had the pole position had to retire due to a serious wheel issue.

Going into the 2010 Australian Grand Prix as the favourite to take out the race was Fernando Alonso, and the Ferrari driver finished fourth after spinning 180° when he received a knock by Button. His Ferrari team mate Felipe Massa came in third, which is his best result to date at Albert Park.

Robert Kubica with Renault impressed with his courageous driving and managed a second spot finish.

Racing on home soil in the 2010 Australian Grand Prix was Red Bull’s Mark Webber who finished ninth in front of his home crowd.

So with two races down, Ferrari is still sitting top of the manufacturer’s standings with a lead of 16 points, while Alonso is at the top of the driver’s leader board with a four point advantage.

All eyes are now looking towards the 2010 F1 Malaysian Grand Prix on the 4th of April.

2010 Australian Grand Prix Results







1st Jenson Button McLaren 58 4 25
2nd Robert Kubica Renault 58 9 18
3rd Felipe Massa Ferrari 58 5 15
4th Fernando Alonso Ferrari 58 3 12
5th Nico Rosberg Mercedes GP 58 6 10
6th Lewis Hamilton McLaren 58 11 8
7th Vitantonio Liuzzi Force India 58 13 6
8th Rubens Barrichello Williams 58 8 4
9th Mark Webber Red Bull 58 2 2
10th Michael Schumacher Mercedes GP 58 7 1
11th Jaime Alguersuari Toro Rosso 58 17
12th Pedro de la Rosa Sauber 58 14
13th Heikki Kovalainen Lotus 56 19
14th Karun Chandhok HRT 53 22
Ret – Suspension Timo Glock Virgin 41 23
Ret – Hydraulics Lucas di Grassi Virgin 26 24
Ret – Wheel Issue Sebastian Vettel Red Bull 25 1
Ret – Engine Adrian Sutil Force India 9 10
Ret – Spin Vitaly Petrov Renault 9 18
Ret – Hydraulics Bruno Senna HRT 4 21
Ret – Accident Sebastien Buemi Toro Rosso 0 12
Ret – Accident Nico Hulkenberg Williams 0 15
Ret – Accident Kamui Kobayashi Sauber 0 16
Ret – Hydraulics Jarno Trulli Lotus 0 20