2010 Malaysian Grand Prix Provides Sebastien Vettel With First Win

Sebastien Vettel wins 2010 Malaysian Grand PrixThe Easter long weekend saw the 2010 F1 World Championship Series travel to Malaysia for the third leg of the Championship – the 2010 Malaysian Grand Prix.

The Sepang International Circuit roared to life as the world’s best F1 teams and drivers travelled to Kuala Lumpur in search for a win.

It was difficult conditions which faced the F1 contingent, as they went from the cool and rainy Melbourne, to the inescapably hot and humid Malaysian climate.

The 2010 Malaysian Grand Prix provided Red Bull with not only their first win of the season, but a one-two dominance of the field.

Sebastien Vettel finally got his first win for 2010 after racing well in the opening two events – it was about time the F1 driver took the black and white flag.

Sebastien Vettel finally got his first win for 2010 after racing well in the opening two events.

His only strong competition throughout the race was his teammate, and Australian, Mark Webber who finished second from the pole position.

Rounding out the podium finishers was the Mercedes GP driver Nico Rosberg, finishing third, providing the team with their first podium finish for 2010.

Winner of the previous race – the 2010 Australian Grand Prix – Jenson Button could not follow his fantastic form Down Under, and finished in a disappointing eighth spot.

Favourite for the title, Fernando Alonso, who won the opening 2010 F1 Grand Prix, finished 13th, and lost his top ranking position on the scoreboard, moving into second place with 37 points, alongside Vettel.

Felipe Massa finished seventh and moves into the top spot overall with a two point lead, while Ferrari is still topping the manufacturer’s standings, although with a lesser lead of 10 points.

All eyes are now looking to the 2010 Chinese Grand Prix which will be held in Shanghai on the 18th of April.

2010 Malaysian Grand Prix Results







1st Sebastian Vettel Red Bull 56 3 25
2nd Mark Webber Red Bull 56 1 18
3rd Nico Rosberg Mercedes GP 56 2 15
4th Robert Kubica Renault 56 6 12
5th Adrian Sutil Force India 56 4 10
6th Lewis Hamilton McLaren 56 20 8
7th Felipe Massa Ferrari 56 21 6
8th Jenson Button McLaren 5 17 4
9th Jaime Alguersuari Toro Rosso 656 14 2
10th Nico Hulkenberg Williams 56 5 1
11th Sebastien Buemi Toro Rosso 56 13
12th Rubens Barrichello Williams 55 7
13th Fernando Alonso Ferrari 54 19
14th Lucas di Grassi Virgin 53 24
15th Karun Chandhock HRT 53 22
16th Bruno Senna HRT 52 23
17th Jarno Trulli Lotus 51 18
Ret – Hydraulics Heikki Kovalainen Lotus 46 15
Ret- Gearbox Vitaly Petrov Renault 32 11
Ret – Throttle Vitantonio Liuzzi Force India 12 10
Ret – Wheels Michael Schumacher Mercedes GP 9 8
Ret – Engine Kamui Kobayashi Sauber 8 9
Ret – Spin Timo Glock Virgin 2 16
DNS – Engine Pedro de la Rosa Sauber 0 12