Jenson Button Wins 2010 Chinese Grand Prix In Another Thrilling Race

The 2010 F1 World Championship Series travelled to China over the weekend, and saw the world’s most elite and prolific Formula 1 drivers and constructors competing at the Shanghai International Circuit, for the 2010 Chinese Grand Prix.

Making it two from the last three F1 races, Jenson Button won the 2010 Chinese Grand Prix in a thrilling race – which the driver claims is his best win to date.

It was a one-two finish for Britain and McLaren, with Button leading Lewis Hamilton passed the chequered flag while Nico Rosberg and Mercedes rounded out the podium.

It was a one-two finish for Britain and McLaren, with Button leading Lewis Hamilton passed the chequered flag.

Defending F1 World Champion Button now tops the driver leader board with 60 points next to his name, ten clear of Rosberg, with Fernando Alonso and Hamilton equal on 49 points in third place, while McLaren now top the constructor leaderboard, 19-points clear of Ferrari.

It was another wet Grand Prix full of action in the Asian nation, with Button leading the majority of the race – spanning 56 laps, in contrast to Hamilton snaking his way through the field to take his runner up position, twice overtaking the legendary Michael Schumacher in exciting manoeuvres.

Schumacher finished in tenth place with Mercedes GP.

A safety car came out on lap one after Vitantonio Liuzzi crashed on the opening corner leading to the Force India driver retiring early, while in the pits Hamilton and Sebastien Vettel came head-to-head.

The duo went wheel-to-wheel at the entrance on lap five, and as the two were released refused to give way on the pit-lane, resulting in Hamilton being on the wrong side of the ‘pedestrain’ walkway and both drivers receiving a reprimand.

Vettel was favourite going into the 2010 Chinese Grand Prix, and started on good form taking the pole position, however finished sixth.

All eyes are now looking to the 2010 Gran Premio De Espana Telefónica in Spain, which will take place on the 9th of May.

2010 Chinese Grand Prix Results







1st Jenson Button McLaren 56 5 25
2nd Lewis Hamilton McLaren 56 6 18
3rd Nico Rosberg Mercedes GP 56 4 15
4th Fernando Alonso Ferrari 56 3 12
5th Robert Kubica Renault 56 8 10
6th Sebastian Vettel Red Bull 56 1 8
7th Vitaly Petrov Renault 56 14 6
8th Mark Webber Red Bull 56 2 4
9th Felipe Massa Ferrari 56 7 2
10th Michael Schumacher Mercedes GP 56 9 1
11th Adrian Sutil Force India 56 10
12th Rubens Barrichello Williams 56 11
13th Jaime Alguersuari Toro Rosso 56 12
14th Heikki Kovalainen Lotus 55 21
15th Nico Hulkenberg Williams 55 16
16th Bruno Senna HRT 54 23
17th Karun Chandhok HRT 52 24
Ret – Hydraulics Jarno Trulli Lotus 26 20
Ret – Clutch Lucas di Grassi Virgin 8 22
Ret – Technical Pedro de la Rosa Sauber 7 17
Ret – Accident Sebastien Buemi Toro Rosso 0 13
Ret – Accident Kamui Kobayashi Sauber 0 15
Ret – Accident Vitantonio Liuzzi Force India 0 18
Ret – Engine Timo Glock Virgin 0 19