Lewis Hamilton Wins The 2010 Belgian Grand Prix Ahead Of Webber

In a thrilling twist to the 2010 F1 World Championship Series tale, the 13th round of the season saw Lewis Hamilton claim what was a crucial win in the 2010 Belgian Grand Prix.

The victory saw Hamilton reclaim his spot at the top of the driver’s leader board.

Hamilton didn’t go into the event as the leading favourite, and so paid well to punters who went against the odds at SportsBet.

The world’s top Formula One drivers and constructors head to the Spa-Francorchamps over the weekend to compete the 44-lap race, many of whom regard it as one of the true classics.

Hamilton took the lead from Australian Mark Webber just after the start of the race, and never looked back.

The win takes the McLaren driver’s winning tally to three Grand Prix’s this season, the most recent of which was the 2010 Canadian Grand Prix.

The victory also saw Hamilton reclaim his spot at the top of the driver’s leader board, although there was a scare towards the end of the race.

The 2008 Champion was within inches of the barrier with nine laps to go after skidding off the track. But the top quality driver kept his cool, and retained his spot at the front of the pack.

Red Bull driver and former leader of the table Webber finished second from the pole position and now sits three points behind Hamilton.

Fellow McLaren driver Jenson Button retired from the race early. The defending champion was pushed out of the GP early by Red Bull driver Sebastian Vettel, and is off the leading mark by 35 points.

Fernando Alonso headed into the race as favourite with SportsBet but retired on lap 38. Due to the wet weather the champion driver spun out, and is now 39 points off the leader on the ladder.

Next up on the F1 timetable is the 2010 Italian Grand Prix, which will take place on September 12 at the Autodromo di Monza. So as the excitement on the track heats up, make sure you are signed up with SportsBet so you can get in amongst the action.

2010 Belgian Grand Prix

Place Driver Team Laps Grid Points
1 Lewis Hamilton McLaren 44 2 25
2 Mark Webber Red Bull 44 1 18
3 Robert Kubica Renault 44 3 15
4 Felipe Massa Ferrari 44 6 12
5 Adrian Sutil Force India 44 8 10
6 Nico Rosberg Mercedes 44 14 8
7 Michael Schumacher Mercedes 44 21 6
8 Kamui Kobayashi Sauber 44 19 4
9 Vitaly Petrov Renault 44 23 2
10 Vitantionio Liuzzi Force India 44 12 1
11 Pedro de la Rosa Sauber 44 24
12 Sebastien Buemi Toro Rosso 44 16
13 Jaime Alguersuari Toro Rosso 44 11
14 Nico Hulkenberg Williams 43 9
15 Sebastien Vettel Red Bull 43 4
16 Heikki Kovalainen Lotus 43 13
17 Lucas di Grassi Virgin 43 22
18 Timo Glock Virgin 43 20
19 Jarno Trulli Lotus 43 15
20 Sakon Yamamoto HRT 42 19
Ret – Accident Fernando Alonso Ferrari 67 10
Ret – Accident Jenson Button McLaren 15 5
Ret – Suspension Bruno Senna HRT 5 18
Ret – Accident Rubens Barrichello Williams 0 7