The Autódromo José Carlos Pace, also known as Interlagos, is an international motor racing circuit located near São Paulo in Brazil. Named after former Formula One driver, and Brazilian legend, Carlos Pace, the Interlagos is most renowned for hosting the Formula One Brazilian Grand Prix.

The circuit is built between two man-made lakes, reflected in the name which when translated means ‘between lakes’, and adopted its current title in 1977 after José Carlos Pace died. The Autódromo José Carlos Pace first held the Brazilian Grand Prix in 1973, and has done so since the inaugural meet every year, apart from 1978 and between the years of 1981 and 1989, when it was relocated to the Autódromo Internacional Nelson Piquet, in Rio de Janeiro.

Interlagos is one of very few circuits to be raced anti-clockwise, and underwent reconstruction in 1990, reduced from the original distance of 7.960 kilometres to the current 4.309 kilometre length. The circuit has a long section where racers reach top speeds, travelling over bumps and turns – 26, and with the undulating course maintains the drivers’ concentration.

The fastest time the track has seen in its current format is 1.11.473, which was set by Juan Pablo Montoya in 2004, racing with BMW Williams. The greatest number of times the Brazilian Grand Prix has been won by the same driver is six, which was set by Alain Prost, and 11 by McLaren in the constructors division.

The 2010 F1 World Championship Season

Grand Prix Name: Grande Premio Do Brasil 2010

Race Date: 5th November – 7th November 2010

Round Number: Eighteen

Number Of Laps: 71