The Silverstone Circuit is host to the British Grand Prix and located half in Northamptonshire, and half in Buckinghamshire, England. The track is also home to the BRDC International Trophy, which is an annual award for the winner of a motor race for historic F1 cars.

The Silverstone Circuit first hosted the British Grand Prix in 1948, and has been the permanent home of the meet since 1987, which is a highlight of the F1 annual schedule. In 1950, as the Formula One World Championship was established, Silverstone hosted the opening Grand Prix for the year, which saw Guiseppe Farina win with Alfa Romeo.

Between 1955 and 1987, the British Grand Prix moved between Silverstone, Aintree and Brands Hatch, before permanently moving to the Silverstone Circuit. Along with the Italian Grand Prix, the British Grand Prix is the oldest continuously staged meet on the F1 calendar, and highly regarded among F1 drivers as a race to win.

The track is 5.141 kilometres long with 17 turns. The fastest time the Grand Prix has seen was set by Michael Schumacher with Ferrari in 2004 at 1.18.739. The most wins by a driver is five, which is shared by Jim Clark and Alain Prost, while Ferrari can claim the most constructors wins of the event with 15.

The 2010 F1 World Championship Season

Grand Prix Name: Santander British Grand Prix

Race Date: 9th July – 11 July 2010

Round Number: Ten

Number Of Laps: 60