Located north of Milan in Italy, the Autodromo Nazionale Monza is one of the most historically rich motor racing circuits in the world, and home to the Formula One Italian Grand Prix. Many Formula One racing enthusiasts consider the Autodromo Nazionale Monza as home of the sport.

Initially built in 1922 as the third permanent track to have been constructed, the Autodromo Nazionale Monza initially spanned 10 kilometres. It was in 1922 the track held its first Formula One Italian Grand Prix where it saw Pietro Bordino win with Fiat. Over its history, the circuit has seen some of the sport’s most phenomenal races, and is certainly a highlight event on the F1 calendar when it rolls around every year.

As part of the opening 1950 Formula One World Championship Season, the Italian Grand Prix has been held every year, which is only true for itself and one other event – the British Grand Prix.

The Autodromo Nazionale Monza has three tracks, with the most prestigious being the Grand Prix circuit, which is 5.793 kilometres in length. With long straights and 10 turns, the track offers racers an opportunity to really put their foot down, reaching speeds of u to 370 km/h. Generally a flat racing track, there is a small incline, and the Autodromo Nazionale Monza has been host to some horrific incidences in F1 racing – primarily in the early stages of the World Championship.

The lap record on the current track is 1.21.046, which was set by Rubens Barrichello in 2004, racing with Ferrari. The most wins completed by a driver is five, which was set by Michael Schumacher, while Ferrari has won the Italian Grand Prix 18 times – the most by any constructor.

The 2010 F1 World Championship Season

Grand Prix Name: Gran Premio Santander D’Italia 2010

Race Date: 10th September – 12th September 2010

Round Number: Fourteen

Number Of Laps: 53