The Sepang International Circuit (SIC) is a racing track in Sepang, Malaysia. About 60 kilometre south of Kuala Lumpur, the SIC is used for a range of international motorsport events such as the A1 Grand Prix, the Malaysian Motorcycle Grand Prix, and of course the Formula One Malaysian Grand Prix.

The SIC was designed by the highly respected Hermann Tilke from Germany, who has also designed various other motor racing venues around the world. The circuit is 5.54 kilometres long, and is regarded for its winding corners, of which it has 15, and its wide straights. It has a long back straight, followed by a hairpin turn, which separates it from the pit straight.

The SIC hosted its first Malaysian Grand Prix in 1999, and has been part of the season every year since then, when it saw Eddie Irvine win with Ferrari. The track is popular among the drivers, with the combination of the tight turns and long straights, which give opportunity for overtaking. The atmosphere among the Malaysian people is one which is very much appreciated among the F1 world, with fans drawn from around the world to get involved among the carnival like atmosphere.

The Sepang International Circuit has a lap record of 1.34.223, which was set by Juan Pablo Montoya in 2004, when he was racing with BMW Williams. Michael Schumacher is the driver to have won the most Malaysian Grand Prix’s with three to his name, and Ferrari has won the most in the constructors division with five.

The 2010 F1 World Championship Season

Grand Prix Name: Petronas Malaysian Grand Prix

Race Date: 2nd – 4th April 2010

Round Number: Three

Number Of Laps: 56