The Circuit de Monaco is located in Monte Carlo and La Condamine, spanning the harbour of Monaco, and makes up the street circuit used for motor racing. It holds one annual event every year, the highly anticipated Formula One Monaco Grand Prix, and has been a regular fixture on the F1 calendar since 1955 – making it one of the oldest and most prestigious events in Formula One racing.

The circuit takes six weeks to fully construct from everyday streets in the city to the Grand Prix racing track. It is regarded by many as the most challenging of the Formula One tracks in the season with tight corners, of which there are a total of 18, and a narrow course.

The Circuit de Monaco boasts having both the slowest and the fastest corners in Formula One – proving the versatility the drivers must have when competing here. It has undergone a few changes since its inception as it has been considered quite dangerous. If it were not already a permanent fixture on the Grand Prix calendar, it would not qualify to be added to the international program, due to safety restrictions. One distinguishing feature of the Circuit de Monaco, and another element the drivers must face is, the tunnel – the drivers do not come up against this distinction between light and dark anywhere else.

The event is highly regarded among motor racing enthusiasts, and along with the Indianapolis 500 and the 24 Hours of Le Mans, forms the Triple Crown of Motorsport.

The lap record of the Circuit de Monaco is 1.14.439, which was set in 2004 by Michael Schumacher, when he was racing with Ferrari. The most wins by a driver is six by Ayrton Senna, and 15 by McLaren in the constructors division.

The 2010 F1 World Championship Season

Grand Prix Name: Grand Prix De Monaco (2010)

Race Date: 13th – 16th May 2010

Round Number: Six

Number Of Laps: 78